“It’s so easy t…

“It’s so easy to overestimate the importance of one defining moment and underestimate the value of making better decisions on a daily basis.”
~James Clear~

Have you ever come home after a hard day of work and thrown your jacket on the back of the couch only to find your couch buried under an impressive number of not only jackets, but clothes, shoes, water bottles, your gym bag, and who knows what that one thing used to be? Don’t lie. I know I’m not the only one to have done this more times than I care to admit. I always wanted a way to magically fix this problem. Unfortunately, I never got accepted to Hogwarts school of magic and wizardry so I must just be “normal.” So what is a normal person to do?

Now I admit, I have not mastered the following, but the following tips are things that I am adding to my life’s toolbox so that I am better equipped and stand a chance at fighting off the monster mess that was once a couch. Here they are.

The 1-Minute Drill

The 1-Minute Drill is just that. There are any number of chores in your house, office, etc. that will take no more than one minute to complete. For example:

  • That one paper needs to be filed
  • Laundry needs to be sorted
  • Take the coats OFF THE COUCH and HANG THEM
  • Put the book on the bookcase
  • MAKE THE BED

You see what I mean with this. None of these tasks are particularly difficult, nor do any of them take more than a minute. What becomes overwhelming is when you have a zillion 1-Minute tasks. All of a sudden it looks troubling and overwhelming. Take a couple segments of your day to tackle the 1-Minute tasks and all of a sudden, the thorough cleaning your house or office needs will be a lot easier to handle.

The Playlist

If you are like me, then you are way too attached to your phone and social media. A way to attack this is to create an Itunes (or Spotify, or whatever) playlist of some of your favorite songs that you love to jam out to. Make it anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour long. During this time, silence your phone and close all those distracting websites including Facebook, Twitter, and maybe even your email. Start your playlist. During the entirety of this playlist put your head down and work. With your favorite artists pushing you on, there is no way you won’t be productive. Sometimes I like to substitute my Workout Playlist for this. What better way to push to get more time than to aim to do it very quickly as well?

The 1% Improvement

This one is probably the most powerful of the self improvement methods I have listed. As much as I would love to take credit for this, I just cannot. It’s so simple that it is difficult. In summary it is to strive to do everything you do just 1% better. Over time, the small steps will add up to big things but the improvements may be so small at first that they are hardly noticeable. I highly encourage everyone to read the full article here on James Clear’s own blog. He has some really amazing insights that I thoroughly enjoy reading every week.

I sure hope that you enjoyed reading about these tips and tricks. Don’t be fooled into thinking that your whole world will be changed overnight. It takes 21 days AT MINIMUM to build a new and lasting habit so slowly add this into your days and watch as you get better with baby steps. Here’s to always improving! CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

